Difference between revisions of "Lancashire"

From LGBT Archive
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 31: Line 31:
[[Category:Lancashire| ]]
[[Category:Lancashire| ]]
[[Category:Shire counties]]

Revision as of 14:02, 23 March 2013

Lancashire is a county in north-west England.

The county council area includes 12 districts: Burnley, Chorley, Fylde, Hyndburn, Lancaster, Pendle, Preston, Ribble Valley, Rossendale, South Ribble, West Lancashire, and Wyre. Additionally the ceremonial county includes two unitary authorities: Blackpool and Blackburn with Darwen.

In 1972 the southern part of the county was detached to form parts of Greater Manchester and Merseyside, and Furness became part of Cumbria, but these areas are still included in the County Palatine of Lancaster.

LGBT History

County-wide LGBT facilities include Lancashire LGBT[1]

Lancashire County Council has a web page on LGBT History Month[2]

In August 2012 the Big Lottery Reaching Communities Fund awarded a grant of £450,000 for a Lancashire LGBT centre.[3]


  1. http://www.lancashirelgbt.co.uk/
  2. http://www.lancashire.gov.uk/corporate/web/?siteid=6463&pageid=38519
  3. http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2012/08/24/lgbt-centre-in-lancashire-awarded-450000/